ELEVENTH MEETING OF PARTNERS OF THE EAST ASIAN – AUSTRALASIAN FLYWAY PARTNERSHIP Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, 12-17 March 2023

Draft Decision 4 rev1



Appointment of the EAAFP Technical Sub-committee members for 2023-2025

Submitted by EAAFP Secretariat

Summary

The EAAFP Technical Sub-committee was formally established by MOP10 (2018) Decision 4.

The 10 members of the EAAFP Technical Sub-committee are nominated by EAAFP Partners and appointed by Partners at each MOP.

A call for nominations for appointment to the TSc 2023-2025 was issued by the EAAFP Secretariat in December 2022 and extended to 20 February.

On the basis of nominations received, EAAFP Partners are invited to approve appointments of eight members to the TsC 2023-2025 during MOP11 (March 2023).

Background

- 1. The EAAFP Technical Sub-committee (TSc) was formally established by MOP10 Decision 4.
- 2. Under its Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure (MOP10 decision 4), the membership of the TSc is composed of up to 10 migratory waterbird and wetland experts, appointed in their own right for their relevant expertise.
- 3. TsC members are nominated by EAAFP Partners, and are then appointed by Partners at each MOP.
- 4. Although there is no specific guidance in the MOP10 Decision 4 concerning re-appointments to the TSc, where appropriate Partners are encouraged to propose such re-nominations so as to have a continuity of a proportion of the TSc membership.
- 5. A call to Partners for nominations for appointment to the TSc for 2023-2025 was issued by the EAAFP Secretariat in early December 2022, and was extended to 20 February 2023.

- 6. By this nomination deadline, eight nominations had been received from Partners: five renominations of current members of the TSc and three nominations for new members.
- 7. Assuming that at MOP11 Partners adopt the draft Decision provided below in Annex 1 and appoint these eight experts to the TSc for 2023-2025, this leaves two vacancies to be filled.
- 8. As is explained in MOP11 DD3, previously it has been identified that there has been no mechanism in the TSc Rules of Procedure to fill intersessional TSc vacancies. MOP11 DD3 proposes an amendment to the Rules of Procedure to address this matter. Pending MOP11 consideration of this matter, the DD paragraph below concerning such intersessional appointments is currently placed in square brackets [...]. These will be removed if the proposals in MOP11 DD3 are adopted by Partners.

Decision:

 Partners at MOP11 are invited to approve the appointment of Technical Sub-committee members for 2023-2025, as listed below in Annex 1.

Annex 1

Draft Decision 4 rev1

Appointment of the EAAFP Technical Sub-committee members for 2023-2025

Submitted by EAAFP Secretariat

Recalling that under the terms of MOP10 Decision 4, candidates for membership of the EAAFP Technical Sub-committee are nominated by Partners, and that the TSc membership is appointed by Partners at each MOP;

Thanking the Technical Sub-committee for its advice and guidance to the work of the Partnership since 2018;

Also thanking those members of the TSc who are stepping down at MOP11 (Mr Noboru Nakamura, Dr. Jonathan C. Slaght and Mr. Sergey Dereliev) for their advice and inputs to the TSc work during 2018-2023;

Further thanking Partners for their nominations for Technical Sub-committee membership for 2023-2025; and

Noting that the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Technical Sub-committee for 2023-2025 will be appointed by members of the TSc, as soon as possible following their appointment by MOP11.

The 11th Meeting of Partners of the East Asian – Australasian Flyway Partnership

1. *Appoints* the following eight waterbird and wetland experts as members of the EAAFP Technical Sub-committee for the 2023-2025 period:

TSc Nominee	Nominated by Partner:	Re-nomination or new nomination?	Current role(s) and recent expertise
Mr. Bena Smith	Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust	New nomination	Senior Project Manager (International), Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust. International Wetland Management Advisor, WWT (UK) Principal Consultant, WWT Consulting (UK)
Mr. Sayam U. Chowdhury	Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, Bangladesh	New nomination	Principal Investigator, Bangladesh Spoon-billed Sandpiper Conservation Project (2009-present) Principal Investigator, Sundarbans Finfoot Research Project (2011-present) Assistant Coordinator, Spoon-billed Sandpiper Task Force, EAAFP (2015-present)
Mr. Spike Millington	Hans-Seidel Foundation	New nomination	(2017-2023) Vice President for International Programs, Asia Program Director, International Crane Foundation. (2012-2017) Chief Executive, East Asian-Australasian Flyway Partnership (EAAFP).
Prof Nick Davidson	Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust	Re-nomination	Current EAAFP TSc Chair (2017-present). Principal, Nick Davidson Environmental (2014-present). Adjunct Research Professor, Gulbali Institute, Charles Sturt University, Australia (2009-present). Waterbird & wetlands global and regional status and trends assessments.
Mr David S. Melville	The Pukorokoro Miranda Naturalists Trust	Re-nomination	Current EAAFP TSc Vice-Chair (2017-present). Long-term shorebird EAAF research. Board member, Global Flyway Network.
Dr. Choi, Chang-yong	Ministry of Environment, Republic of Korea	Re-nomination	TSc member 2018-2023. Assistant Professor, Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Bioresources, Seoul National University (Sep2020-present). ASEAN-Korea Environmental Cooperation Unit (AKECU), Seoul National University (Sep 2017-Aug 2020).
Mr. Casey Burns	USA	Re-nomination	TSc member 2018-2023. Current Chair, EAAFP CEPA Working Group. Wildlife and Threatened and Endangered Species Program Lead & BLM Alaska Pollinator Coordinator, DOI Bureau of Land Management (BLM), Anchorage, AK (Oct 2015 - present).
Dr. Taej Mundkur	Wetlands International	Re-nomination	TSc member 2018-2023. Senior Advisor, Wetlands International (2022-present. Expert global lead on waterbird population assessments globally and regionally.

3

[2. *Requests* the Secretariat, the Technical Sub-committee and the Management Committee to seek to identify two additional suitably qualified waterbird and wetland experts for intersessional appointment to the TSc.]