ELEVENTH MEETING OF PARTNERS OF THE EAST ASIAN – AUSTRALASIAN FLYWAY PARTNERSHIP Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, 12-17 March 2023



Draft Decision 4

Appointment of the EAAFP Technical Sub-committee members for 2023-2025

Recalling that under the terms of MOP10 Decision 4, candidates for membership of the EAAFP Technical Sub-committee are nominated by Partners, and that the TSc membership is appointed by Partners at each MOP;

Thanking the Technical Sub-committee for its advice and guidance to the work of the Partnership since 2018;

Also thanking those members of the TSc who are stepping down at MOP11 (Prof Richard Fuller, Mr Noboru Nakamura, Dr. Jonathan C. Slaght and Mr. Sergey Dereliev) for their advice and inputs to the TSc work during 2018-2023;

Further thanking Partners for their nominations for Technical Sub-committee membership for 2023-2025; and

Noting that the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Technical Sub-committee for 2023-2025 will be appointed by members of the TSc, as soon as possible following their appointment by MOP11.

The 11th Meeting of Partners

of the East Asian - Australasian Flyway Partnership

1. Appoints the following eight waterbird and wetland experts as members of the EAAFP Technical Sub-committee for the 2023-2025 period:

TSc Nominee	Nominated by	Re-nomination or	Current role(s) and recent expertise
Mr. Bena Smith	Partner: Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust	New nomination	Senior Project Manager (International), Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust. International Wetland Management Advisor, WWT (UK)
Mr. Sayam U. Chowdhury	Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, Bangladesh	New nomination	Principal Consultant, WWT Consulting (UK) Principal Investigator, Bangladesh Spoon-billed Sandpiper Conservation Project (2009-present) Principal Investigator, Sundarbans Finfoot Research Project (2011-present) Assistant Coordinator, Spoon-billed Sandpiper Task Force, EAAFP (2015-present)
Mr. Spike Millington	Hans-Seidel Foundation	New nomination	(2017-2023) Vice President for International Programs, Asia Program Director, International Crane Foundation. (2012-2017) Chief Executive, East Asian-Australasian Flyway Partnership (EAAFP).
Prof Nick Davidson	Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust	Re-nomination	Current EAAFP TSc Chair (2017-present). Principal, Nick Davidson Environmental (2014-present). Adjunct Research Professor, Gulbali Institute, Charles Sturt University, Australia (2009-present). Waterbird & wetlands global and regional status and trends assessments.
Mr David S. Melville	The Pukorokoro Miranda Naturalists Trust	Re-nomination	Current EAAFP TSc Vice-Chair (2017-present). Long-term shorebird EAAF research. Board member, Global Flyway Network.
Dr. Choi, Chang-yong	Ministry of Environment, Republic of Korea	Re-nomination	TSc member 2018-2023. Assistant Professor, Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Bioresources, Seoul National University (Sep2020-present). ASEAN-Korea Environmental Cooperation Unit (AKECU), Seoul National University (Sep 2017-Aug 2020).
Mr. Casey Burns	USA	Re-nomination	TSc member 2018-2023. Current Chair, EAAFP CEPA Working Group. Wildlife and Threatened and Endangered Species Program Lead & BLM Alaska Pollinator Coordinator, DOI Bureau of Land Management (BLM), Anchorage, AK (Oct 2015 - present).
Dr. Taej Mundkur	Wetlands International	Re-nomination	TSc member 2018-2023. Senior Advisor, Wetlands International (2022-present. Expert global lead on waterbird population assessments globally and regionally.

2. *Requests* the Secretariat, the Technical Sub-committee and the Management Committee to seek to identify two additional suitably qualified waterbird and wetland experts for approval by Partners for intersessional appointment to the TSc.