Celebrating Australia’s wetlands: A showcase of Australian Ramsar sites

Source by : Australian Government (Department of the Environment)


Australia was one of the first signatories to the Convention on Wetlands of International Importance, known as the Ramsar Convention. As evidence of its leadership and commitment to the Convention, Cobourg Peninsula in the Northern Territory was designated as the world’s first Ramsar wetland in 1974.

To celebrate the 40th anniversary of this designation, this publication showcases 23 Australian Ramsar sites, including the iconic Kakadu National Park in the top end, Barmah Forest in the Murray-Darling Basin, the Coorong and Lakes Alexandrina and Albert Ramsar wetland in South Australia and Moulting Lagoon in Tasmania. The publication highlights the unique environmental and cultural aspects of these sites, and demonstrates the wide diversity of wetland ecosystems across the country.

To download the publication, please click below: http://www.environment.gov.au/water/wetlands/publications/celebrating-australias-wetlands

Comments are closed.